| The First
Intellectual Copyright Violation Case Settled:
On June 20,
2000, Beijing Intermediate Court declared that Beijing Guowang Information
Co., Ltd. violated the intellectual copyright law by registering
the domain name of http://www.ikea.com.cn.
According to Beijing Intermediate Court, Sweden-based company, Ikea,
is an international prestigious company, which is involved in furniture
business for decades. As a new entrant of IT industry, Beijing Guowang
Information Co., Ltd. obviously violated the copyright law by setting
up several domain names belonged to international conglomerates,
including http://www.ikea.com.cn.
Based on the fact, the court decided that Beijing Guowang Information
Co., Ltd. should cease illegal domain name registration business.
|
| Procter and Gamble Wins Trademark:
SHANGHAI, Oct 10, 2000 -- An American company has won a suit against a local firm who used their
trademark online to increase the number of hits and build advertising
revenue on their website. Procter and Gamble sued the local firms
for registering P&G's trademark "Safeguard" as a domain name online. The
court declared the website, http://www.safeguard.com.cn , invalid and
ordered Shanghai Chenxuan Technology Development Co., Ltd. to stop using it.
The Shanghai No. 2 Intermediate People's Court declares that the domain name
register is unlawfully trying to improve its popularity and attract
consumers to visit its website and increase the number of hits. By doing so,
the website holders is unfairly profiting from the work done by the
trademark holder.
|